SMTE Leadership

SMTE Executive Board

2018-2020 Officers

Office – Chair
Current Officer – David Rickels
Affiliation – University of Colorado Boulder

Office – Chair-elect
Current Officer – Sean Powell
Affiliation – University of North Texas

Office – Immediate Past Chair
Current Officer – Linda Thornton
Affiliation – Pennsylvania State University

Office – Eastern Division Rep.
Current Officer – Kim Councill
AffiliationBucknell University
Contact –

View Eastern Division State Chairs

Office – North Central Division Rep.
Current Officer – Nathan Kruse
Affiliation – Case Western
Contact –

View North Central Division State Chairs

Office – Northwestern Division Rep.
Current Officer – Crystal Sieger
Affiliation – University of Wyoming

View Northwestern Division State Chairs

Office – Southern Division Rep.
Current Officer – Angela Munroe
Affiliation – West Virginia University
Contact –

View Southern Division State Chairs

Office – Southwestern Division Rep.
Current Officer – Don Taylor
Affiliation – University of North Texas
Contact –

View  Southwestern Division State Chairs

Office – Western Division Rep.
Current Officer – Brittany May
Affiliation – Brigham Young University
Contact –

View Western Division State Chairs

Office – Symposium Chair
Current Officer – Brett Nolker
Affiliation – The University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Office – ASPA Coordinator
Current Officer – Tami Draves
Affiliation – The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Contact –

Office – Communications Chair
Current Officer – Jay Dorfman
Affiliation – Kent State University
Contact –

Office – Journal of Music Teacher Education (JMTE) Editor
Current Officer – James Austin
Affiliation – University of Colorado Boulder
Contact –

Office – NAfME National Executive Board (NEB) Liaison
Current Officer – TBD

Office – Board Advisor
Current Officer – Jacqueline Henninger
Affiliation – Texas Tech University
Contact –

Journal of Music Teacher Education Editorial Committee

Editor:  James Austin, University of Colorado Boulder (

Associate Editor: Elizabeth C. Parker, Temple University

Joseph M. Abramo – University of Connecticut

Christopher M. Baumgartner – University of Oklahoma

Vanessa L. Bond – Rowan University

Diana R. Dansereau – Boston University

Michele L. Henry – Baylor University


Michael T. Hopkins – University of Michigan

Sean R. Powell – University of North Texas

Stephanie Prichard – University of Maryland

Karen Salvador – Michigan State University

Ryan D. Shaw – Michigan State University


Division Chair: Kim Councill, Bucknell University

State – Connecticut
State Chair – Joseph Abramo
Institution – University of Connecticut

State – Delaware
State Chair – Mark Adams
Institution – University of Delaware

State – District of Columbia
State Chair – Sharyn Battersby
Institution – Catholic University

State – European Union
State Chair – vacant

State – Maine
State Chair – Philip Edelman
Institution – University of Maine

State – Maryland
State Chair – Louise Anderson
Institution – Salisbury University

State – Massachusetts
State Chair – Sandra Doneski
Institution – Gordon College

State – New Hampshire
State Chair – Mark De Turk
Institution – University of New Hampshire

State -New Jersey
State Chair – vacant

State – New York
State Chair – Mark Filsinger
Institution – SUNY Buffalo State

State – Pennsylvania
State ChairKathy Melago
Institution – Slippery Rock University

State – Rhode Island
State Chair – vacant

State – Vermont
State Chair – Patricia Riley
Institution – University of Vermont

North Central

Division Chair: Nathan Kruse, Case Western Reserve University

State – Illinois
State Chair – Danelle Larson
Institution – Eastern Illinois University

State – Indiana
State Chair – Caroline Jetton
Institution – DePauw University

State – Iowa
State Chair – Nicki Toliver
Institution – Wartburg College

State – Michigan
State Chair – Lauri Hogle
Institution – Oakland University

State – Minnesota
State ChairSusan Vollbrecht
Institution – College of Saint Benedict/Saint John’s University

State – Nebraska
State ChairAmy Spears
Institution – Nebraska Wesleyan University

State – North Dakota
State Chair – Laura Zamzow Lynch
Institution – University of Jamestown

State – Ohio
State Chair – Stephen Hankle
Institution – University of Dayton

State – South Dakota
State Chair – Wendy van Ghent
Institution – Northern State University

State – Wisconsin
State Chair – Sheila Feay-Shaw
Institution – University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee


Division Chair: Crystal Sieger, University of Wyoming

State – Alaska
State Chair – vacant

State – Idaho
State Chair – Lori Gray
Institution – Boise State University

State – Montana
State Chair – Kristin Harney
Institution – Montana State University

State – Oregon
State Chair – Sandra Babb
Institution – Oregon State University

State – Washington
State Chair – Bret Smith
Institution – Central Washington University

State – Wyoming
State Chair – Crystal Sieger
Institution – University of Wyoming


Division Chair: Angela Munroe, University of West Virginia

State – Alabama
State Chair – Ted Hoffman
Institution – Montevallo University

State – Florida
State Chair – Marc Decker 
Institution – Florida Atlantic University

State – Georgia
State Chair – Nancy Conley
Institution – Kennesaw State University

State – Kentucky
State Chair – Joan Eckroth-Riley
Institution – Murray State University

State -Louisiana
State Chair – Ed McClellan
Institution – Loyola University New Orleans

State – Mississippi
State Chair – Ashley Allen
Institution – University of Southern Mississippi

State – North Carolina
State Chair – José Rivera
Institution – University of North Carolina Pembroke

State – South Carolina
State Chair – Susie Lalama
Institution – Converse College

State – Tennessee
State Chair – Loneka Battiste
Institution – University of Tennessee Knoxville

State – Virginia
State Chair – Nancy Klein
Institution – Old Dominion University

State – West Virginia
State Chair – Jason Gossett
Institution – West Virginia University


Division Chair: Don Taylor, University of North Texas

State – Arkansas
State ChairJennifer Hawkinson
Institution – University of Central Arkansas


State – Colorado
State ChairCarla Aguilar
Institution – Metropolitan State University

State – Kansas
State ChairsFrank Perez
Institutions – Baker University

State – Missouri
State Chair – Daniel Hellman
Institution – Missouri State University

State – New Mexico
State ChairOlivia Tucker
Institution – University of New Mexico

State – Oklahoma
State ChairsChris Baumgartner
Institutions – University of Oklahoma

State – Texas
State ChairTanya Allen
Institution – Texas Southern University


Division Chair: Brittany May, Brigham Young University

State – Arizona
State Chair – Marg Schmidt
Institution – Arizona State University

State – California
State Chair – John Eros
Institution – California State University-East Bay

State – Hawaii
State Chair – Chet-Yeng Loong
Institution – University of Hawaii-Manoa

State – Nevada
State ChairJoseph Svendsen
Institution – University of Nevada-Las Vegas

State – Utah
State Chair – Vincent Bates
Institution – Weber State University