Twelve Special Action Groups were established at the 2005 SMTE Symposium on Music Teacher Education. Now called Areas for Strategic Planning and Action (ASPAs), the purpose of these groups is to develop and implement action plans related to current critical issues in music teacher education.

ASPA Directory

Critical Examination of the Curriculum

Marshall Haning and Jocelyn Stevens Prendergast

Cultural Diversity and Social Justice for Music Teacher Education

Sarah Minette, Latasha Thomas-Durrell, and Juliet Hess

Music Teacher Health and Wellness

Judy Palac and Frank Diaz

Music Teacher Identity Development

Jason Gossett and Becky Marsh


Cara Bernard and Ryan Shaw

Program Admission, Assessment, and Alignment

Phillip Payne and Natalie Steele-Royston

Supporting Beginning Music Teachers

Jessica Vaughan-Marra and Christopher Baumgertner

Teacher Evaluation

Kenneth Elpus and Stephanie Prichard

Teacher Recruitment

Tiger Robison and Blair Williams

Latest ASPA News

SMTE Statement and Resources

The SMTE Board is deeply troubled by the current events in our country. As the organization within the National Association for Music Education that speaks for teacher education, the Society for Music Teacher Education supports the June 4th statement by NAfME, “What...

read more

Chris Woodside’s Letter to the Policy Research Community

Dear Policy Researchers, I am writing to give you an update on activities that have taken place since our last policy phone call.  I welcome your feedback on any of the below issues. ESEA Reauthorization NAfME has been closely following the competing ESEA bills...

read more

Now Seeking Nominations for Division Representatives!

The Society for Music Teacher Education invites nominations for the two Division Representative positions (Southwestern and Southern) that will be turning over July 1, 2020.  The Society values the voices of all individuals and especially encourages nominations of...

read more

ASPA Reports

ASPA Actions Mind Map (updated Sep. 2017)

ASPA Overview (updated Feb. 2010)