Twelve Special Action Groups were established at the 2005 SMTE Symposium on Music Teacher Education. Now called Areas for Strategic Planning and Action (ASPAs), the purpose of these groups is to develop and implement action plans related to current critical issues in music teacher education.

ASPA Directory

Critical Examination of the Curriculum

Marshall Haning and Brian Weidner

Cultural Diversity and Social Justice for Music Teacher Education

Sarah Minette, Jacqueline Henninger, Allyson Rottman

Music Teacher Health and Wellness

Melissa Baughman and Tawnya Smith

Music Teacher Identity Development

Becky Marsh and Olivia Tucker


Cara Bernard and Ryan Shaw

Program Admission, Assessment, and Alignment

Phillip Payne and Aaron Wacker

School/University Partnerships

Ted Hoffmann and Emily Mercado

Supporting Beginning Music Teachers

Jessica Vaughan-Marra and Erin Zaffini

Teacher Recruitment

Tiger Robison and Jacob Berglin

Latest ASPA News

Open Nominations for SMTE Officer Vacancies

The Society for Music Teacher Education invites nominations for two Division Representative positions (Northwestern and Eastern) for terms that begin July 1, 2022. We also welcome engaged individuals from any Division who have interest in serving as Symposium Chair or...

read more

ASPA Facilitator Voting Update

Thank you for participating in the ASPA Facilitator Elections. The Music Teacher Health and Wellness ASPA requires a run-off election. Please visit this form to vote in the run-off. Voting ends on November 11, 2021 at 5pm. Once the run-off election is complete,...

read more

ASPA Reports

ASPA Actions Mind Map (updated Sep. 2017)

ASPA Overview (updated Feb. 2010)